Mbombela, Mpumalanga – Saturday, 06 May 2023 – The METRO FM MUSIC AWARDS 2023 painted the town of Mbombela, in Mpumalanga, black on Saturday night (06 May 2023), with the return of the country’s biggest awards ceremony – themed ‘Black is Back’ – that honours the country’s top musical talent.

After a five-year break, the METRO FM MUSIC AWARDS 2023 (#MMA23) returned with a star-studded gala evening at the Mbombela Stadium, with the prestigious awards ceremony attracting thousands of fans on the night.

The awards were also broadcast live on SABC 1, SABC Plus and METRO FM’s YouTube channel, treating audiences to some of today’s biggest South African music acts on stage, as well as the giving them the opportunity to see their favourite A-list celebrities walk the “Black Carpet”.

On hand to crown South Africa’s Kings and Queens of music across various categories were a number of celebrity presenters, including Lerato ‘LKG’ Kganyago and Katlego Maboe, who hosted the esteemed awards.

They were joined by Somizi (somGAGA) Mhlongo and Mpumi Mlambo, who reported from behind the “Black Curtain” and Sipho (Alphi) Mkhwanazi and Zanele Potelwa who gave audiences a blow-by-blow account of the action and the glitz and glam of the “Black Carpet”.

This team of energetic and charismatic talent was carefully selected to deliver the most impactful awards ceremony that South African audiences have seen in the last five years.

Ms Nada Wotshela, SABC Group Executive: Radio stated, “We are truly delighted with the success of the METRO FM MUSIC AWARDS 2023, which has cemented its place as the biggest and most prestigious music award ceremony on the South African entertainment calendar”.

“South Africa’s music artists have overcome so much in the past five years and there was no better time to relaunch the METRO FM MUSIC AWARDS than now. METRO FM is extremely proud and honoured to champion this important and high-profile event that recognises and celebrates diversity in music, art, fashion and culture.”

She said that this year’s awards were held in partnership with the Mpumalanga Provincial Government, which joined forces with METRO FM for the hosting of the 17th edition of the high-profile ceremony.

“We are really excited to have partnered with the province for this year’s METRO FM MUSIC AWARDS. We are confident that this highly regarded event has benefited the music industry and promoted tourism in the province at the same time,” Wotshela concluded.


Artist of the Year – AKA
Best Afrosoul – Pop Song – Zuko SA – Andikalibali
Best Amapiano Song – Deep London – Hamba Wena
Best Collaboration Song – AKA feat. Nasty C – Lemons (Lemonade)
Best Duo or Group – Inkabi Nation
Best Female Artist – Makhadzi
Best Gospel Album – Pastor Lungi Ndala – Victorious Praise
Best Hip-Hop Artist – AKA
Best House Song – SKYE WANDA – AMAZWI
Best Jazz Album – Nduduzo Makhathini – In The Spirit of Ntu
Best Kwaito/Gqom Song – Dj Tira – Sikilidi
Best Male Artist – AKA
Best Male Video – Dj Tira – Sikilidi
Best New Age R&B Artist – MOE
Best Viral Challenge – Deep London feat Boohle – Hamba Wena
New Artist – CocoSA
Best Styled Artist – Musa Keys
Lifetime Award – Dr Esther Mahlangu and Mafikizolo
Song of the Year – Betusile Mcinga – Ngena Noah

One Africa – Waters


Issued By: Group Communications

Media Enquiries: Mmoni Seapolelo (Acting Group Executive: Corporate Affairs & Marketing)

Seapolelomv@sabc.co.za | T. 011 714 3057 | C. 073 688 1590

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *